Thirlwall Parish is in the extreme west of the county of Northumberland and includes part of the village of Gilsland and the hamlet of Longbyre. The north western parish boundary, along the Irthing river and Poltross Burn, is also the boundary between Cumbria and Northumberland. To the south east of the parish the Tipalt Burn forms the boundary with Greenhead Parish.

Thirlwall Parish is in the Haydon and Hadrian Ward of Northumberland County Council and our councillor is Cllr. Alan Sharp.

We are in the Hexham constituency and our MP is Guy Opperman (Con).

The Parish Council is the most local form of government and all councillors must live within or very close to the parish boundary. Thirlwall Parish Council has five councillors, employs a part-time clerk, and meets six times a year. The meetings are normally held in Gilsland Village Hall and are open to the public. Details of forthcoming meetings and minutes of past meetings are available on this website.

Parish Councillors are elected every four years, or in the event that there are not enough candidates to contest all the seats, candidates may be appointed by the existing councillors. You may contact any Parish Councillor, or the Council's Clerk, for information about the Council, its functions, or to comment on its work. 

Meeting Dates and Agendas